No. 2 Women’s Tennis captures Big 12 Tournament Championship

WACO, Texas — The No. 2 University of Texas women’s tennis team registered an impressive 4-0 sweep against No. 8 Baylor (23-4) in the Big 12 Championship match on Sunday afternoon at the Hurd Tennis Center. The Longhorns won their 18th consecutive dual match to improve to 25-1 on the season.  

Texas captured the Big 12 Tournament title for the 11th time in program history. The Longhorns have won the event in 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2012, 2013, 2018 and 2021. This also marked the 20th conference tournament championship for UT, as the school claimed nine Southwest Conference tourney crowns (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995 and 1996).

Texas posted its third victory against a Top-10 opponent, its eighth over a Top-25 foe and its 15th against a Top-50 opponent this season. The Longhorns earned their fourth victory over Baylor this year, recording a 4-0 win in Austin during the ITA Kick-off Weekend (Jan. 24), a 6-1 victory in Waco (March 6), a 7-0 win in Austin (March 28) and today’s 4-0 victory in Waco. UT has now recorded 17 sweeps in its first 25 dual-match victories this season.

Texas grabbed a 1-0 lead after claiming the doubles point for the 23rd time in its first 26 matches. The No. 17-ranked duo of freshmen Kylie Collins and Lulu Sun earned a 6-3 victory on court 1 against the No. 26-ranked pair of Mel Krywoj and Angie Shakraichuk. Tied at 3-3, Collins and Sun held serve, forced a service break and then held serve again to close out their win and improve to 16-4 in dual-match doubles play this spring.

The No. 86-ranked tandem of seniors Anna Turati and Fernanda Labraña clinched the doubles point with a 6-4 win on court 2 over Jessica Hinojosa and Kris Sorokolet. Hinojosa and Sorokolet raced out to a 4-1 lead, but Turati and Labraña rattled off five-straight games, including a service break on deuce point in the final game to seal the victory and move to 14-1 in dual-match doubles action.

No. 53 Collins opened singles play with a 6-0, 6-3 victory on court 5 over Paula Baranano. Collins trailed 3-1 in the second set but responded by winning five straight games to close out her 11th straight win and improve to 16-2 in dual-match singles action this spring.

No. 75 freshman Charlotte Chavatipon followed with a 6-3, 6-3 win on court 4 against Shakhraichuk. Leading 4-3 in her opening set, Chavatipon won back-to-back games to post a 6-3 set victory. Shakhraichuk jumped out to a 3-1 lead in the second set, but Chavatipon rallied to win five straight games to earn her 13th consecutive victory and move to 23-1 overall in singles this season, including a 20-1 mark in dual-match play.

For the second day in a row, freshman Malaika Rapolu delivered the clinching point with her 6-4, 6-3 win on court 6 over Sorokolet. Tied at 4-4 in the opening set, Rapolu won back-to-back games to earn a 6-4 set victory. Rapolu then jumped out to a 5-2 lead in the second set. Sorokolet broke Rapolu to pull within 5-3, but Rapolu answered with a service break on deuce point to post her 15th consecutive victory and improve to 24-2 overall in singles this year, including a 17-1 mark in dual-match action.

The remaining singles matches featuring No. 28 freshman Peyton Stearns (court 1), No. 29 Turati (court 2) and No. 68 Sun (court 3) were stopped once Rapolu clinched her win.

Collins was named Most Outstanding Performer at the Big 12 Championship. She registered a 2-0 mark in singles on court 5 and a 2-1 record in doubles with Sun on court 1 during UT’s three matches at the conference tourney.

Texas will await to learn its draw in the 2021 NCAA Championship during the Division I selection show on Monday, May 3 at 5 p.m. Central.

#2 Texas 4, #8 Baylor 0

Singles – Order of finish (5, 4, 6)

  1. #28 Peyton Stearns (UT) vs. #65 Mel Krywoj (BU), 1-6, 6-0, 3-2, unfinished
  2. #29 Anna Turati (UT) vs. Jessica Hinojosa (BU), 6-1, 5-4, unfinished
  3. #68 Lulu Sun (UT) vs. Alicia Herrero Linana (BU), 6-1, 3-6, 3-1, unfinished
  4. #75 Charlotte Chavatipon (UT) def. Angie Shakhraichuk (BU), 6-3, 6-3
  5. #53 Kylie Collins (UT) def. Paula Baranano (BU), 6-0, 6-3
  6. Malaika Rapolu (UT) def. Kris Sorokolet (BU), 6-4, 6-3

Doubles – Order of finish (1, 2)

  1. #17 Kylie Collins/Lulu Sun (UT) def. #26 Mel Krywoj/Angie Shakhraichuk (BU), 6-3
  2. #86 Fernanda Labraña/Anna Turati (UT) def. Jessica Hinojosa/Kris Sorokolet (BU), 6-4
  3. #42 Peyton Stearns/Charlotte Chavatipon (UT) vs. Audrey Boch-Collins/Alicia Herrero Linana (BU), 6-6 (2-1), unfinished