Indian River Men and Women Collect 47th, 39th Straight NJCAA Team Titles


  • April 28 – May 2, 2021
  • Anne Wilder Aquatic Complex
  • Ft. Pierce, Florida
  • Defending Champs: Indian River (Men/Women)
  • Results Available on Meet Mobile Under “2021 NJCAA Swimming & Diving Champs”
  • Day 1 Recap
  • Day 2 Recap

The Indian River men’s and women’s teams have wrapped up the 2021 NJCAA Swimming & Diving Championships, successfully earning their 47th and 39th straight team titles, respectively. Having established an early lead on day 1, the Indian River men finished with 1,340 points while the women collected 1,374 to out-score the second-place finishers by a wide margin.

Team Scores After Day 1 (Top 5)


  1. Indian River State College – 1,340 Points
  2. Iowa Central Community College – 690.50 Points
  3. Southwestern Oregon CC – 598 Points
  4. Barton Community College – 597.50 Points
  5. South Georgia State College – 252 Points


  1. Indian River State College – 1,3784 Points
  2. Southwestern Oregon CC – 674 Points
  3. Iowa Central Community College – 562 Points
  4. Jamestown Community College –329 Points
  5. Erie Community College – 213 Points

Ella Gates opened up day 3 of the meet with a 50 butterfly victory with a 25.25 to shave 0.08 seconds off her prelim time of 25.33. Both of those swims were quicker than her entry time in the event of 25.70. The 50 fly win for Gates was her first victory of the meet, improving upon her second-place finish in the 50 back and 100 butterfly. Gates’ Indian River teammates Erifylli Maroutsou was also under 26 in the final, hitting a 25.96 for silver while Ashley Sterchele notched a 26.59 for bronze.

As for the men’s 50 butterfly, Liam Henry swam a 21.89 to take gold for Indian River, dropping half a second from his prelims swim of 22.37. His PB heading into the meet stood at a 22.78 from last year’s championships. 100 and 200 butterfly champion Brennan Hammond from Indian River followed Henry in the 50 fly with a 21.99 for second place while Nicholas Fauteux made it a sweep for the team with his bronze medal-winning 22.68.

Taryn Dailey finished the meet with a perfect individual record as she collected gold in the 100 freestyle, touching in a 51.59. Having previously won the 200 IM, 100 fly, and 200 fly, Dailey’s 100 freestyle made it 4-for-4. Dailey got down a considerable amount from her 52.98 entry time both with her prelims swim of 52.17 and her winning time of 51.59. Southwestern Oregon’s Jacqueline Feurtado made it to the podium as well with a 51.84 for silver while Karianne Yuchnitz earned bronze for Jamestown in a 52.25.

Luke Altmann clinched his first victory of the meet in the men’s 100 freestyle, hitting a 45.20 which actually exactly matched his prelims time and was quicker than his entry time of 45.53. Dean Walker and Caleb Brandon from Indian River joined Altmann on the podium, hitting a 45.48 and 45.67, respectively.

Southwestern Oregon’s Alejandro Robles Ruiz completed a backstroke sweep for his swim by winning the 200 backstroke, adding to his previous 50 and 100 back victories. Robles got under 1:50 for the first time at this meet, improving upon his 1:50.16 swim from last year’s NJCAA Championships. Indian River’s Marco Cabrera Duarte followed with a 1:50.77 for the silver medal while Iowa Central swimmer Tjeerd Van Stein was a 1:50.91 for bronze.

After winning gold in the 100/200/400 IM, Aramis Rivera dropped to second place in the men’s 200 breaststroke with a 1:59.93 to Michael Deans‘ 1:56.82. That swim for Deans was actually a little bit slower than his prelim swim of 1:56.34 but was quicker than his PB heading into the meet of 1:58.22. Joining Deans and Rivera on the podium, Kyle McKenzie from Iowa Central was a 2:01.76 for the bronze medal.

Other Day 3 Wins

  • Women’s 1 Meter Dive: Indian River’s Lainie Rivas won the 1-meter dive by scoring a 409.05 while teammate Lola Dragosavac took second with 405.25 points.
  • Men’s 3 Meter Dive: TJ Ray made it 2-for-2 in the diving events by scoring 426.80 in the 3 meter, having previously won the 1 meter.
  • Women’s 400 Freestyle Relay: Victoria Ortiz (52.96), Taryn Dailey (52.56), Kailea Green (53.41), Lillian Lewis (53.42) threw together a 3:32.36 to win the women’s relay.
  • Men’s 400 Freestyle Relay: The men’s relay event on day 3 went to the Indian River contingent of Luke Altmann (45.15), Caleb Brandon (45.19), Dean Walker (45.04), and John Zeiger (45.23) with a 3:00.61.